Coring Apples, Baking Baguettes and Singing!

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fall is my favorite season, and I usually tend to get sappy in the fall, and spend my afternoons coring apples, and keeping the house always smelling like cinnamon. I took a few apple photographs, while thinking of when to make my cookbook cover design.

This week i’ve been spending a lot less time in the kitchen, an a lot more time processing word documents. Oh the paperwork of cookbooks! I’m glad to announce that I am finnaly on page 134, and only have a few more to go, before attacking revisions.

Fall always makes me want to sign, and goodness knows I cannot sign. So, I sit all afternoon, coring apples.. Baking Baguettes, and signing Paolo Nutini. A typical fall afternoon; I hope that never changes.

French Baguettes: 

Adapted from: (Not Without Salt)

-5 1/2 Cups flour (I use unbleached)

-1 packet of self rising Yeast

-2 1/2 cups of water

Mix all ingredients and kneed the dough. I love bread dough, so I always kneed with my hands.

Refrigerate dough overnight. Two hours before baking bread, remove from fridge and devide into four. Form into baguette like shapes, and place on a lined cookiesheet apart from each other. Let them rise for 2 hours, or untill they almost double in size.  Bake on 400 degrees, for 40 minutes, with a steam bath under.

How to build a steam bath:

-One Pie Pan

-2 Cups of water

Add two cups of water to a pie pan, and plan on the rack under your baguettes. The steam the water will create is what transform the bread from a regular loaf, to a real crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside french baguette!

Enjoy singing along to my favorite singer too this fall:

Leave a Reply

