Pancake Duo: Brownie batter &Vanilla Almond pancakes

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Brownie Batter Pancakes with tree trunk appeal

Making simple pancakes look like tree trunks and taste like brownies is just what I set out to do this morning!

Recipe:

-2 cups flour

-5 tablespoons milk

-one egg

-two teaspoons sugar

-one teaspoon dutch-processed cocoa

-3 teaspoons of canola oil, or apple sauce

-1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Mix all ingredients, and to make the tree trunk “ages” design.. spoon the batter in a circular motion on a higher cooking setting, once the design is achieved and brown’ed turn stove top down to medium heat.

Brownie batter pancake recipe adapted from “chocolate covered Katie”  chocolatecoveredkatie.com

Vanilla Almond pancakes with Flax seed meal

These pancakes are a little harder to make since the almonds and the flax seed meal replace most of the flour, however when acheived are yummy!

I created this recipe this morning when I found my bag of almonds sitting on the counter, just waiting for me to cook it into breakfast. I decided It must be used, and came up with this recipe, which compliments the Brownie Batter pancakes well.

Recipe:

-one and 1/2 cup of flour (all purpose)

-1/2 cup of flax seed meal/flour

-one cup ground almonds

-one egg

-one teaspoon natural vanilla extract

-1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, my heart stopped when I saw this! I’m so glad you stopped by my blog, this is my first time here. Those pancakes are right up my alley. I cannot wait to try them. I’m looking forward to browsing around, your recipes look divine!

    • Thank you so much! I am so glad you like them! I am just starting out, and it’s tough to find people to see my site! I am so glad you commented me back! Let me know how the pancakes go!

Leave a Reply

